GreenEdge outsider to win 2012 Tour De France

While Cadel Evans remains the punters choice to win the 2012 Tour de France, Australian team GreenEdge has been opened as a $501 outsider with online bookmaker to take out the overall Team Classification.

Garmin Barracuda, Radioshack Nissan and Sky Procycling have been installed as joint favourites at $4.95 with Rabobank and Movistar next in the market at $7.40.

Evans’ BMC team have been opened as a $176 chance.

“The market suggests it could be a real uphill battle for GreenEdge in their debut Tour de France,”’s Ben Hawes said.

“They sit on the last line of betting with Saxo Bank and Argos Shimano at $501.”

Evans continues to attract the punters interest and has now attracted 8 times the amount of money to that of favourite Brad Wiggins ($2.20).

Markets courtesy of
2012 Tour de France – Team classification
$4.95 Garmin Barracuda, Radioshack Nissan, Sky Procycling
$7.40 Rabobank, Movistar
$12.75 AG2R La Mondiale, Astana
$17.25 Omega Pharma Quickstep
$30 Liquigas Cannondale
$35 Euskaltel Euskadi
$45 Vacansoleil DCM
$70 Europcar
$90 Katusha
$126 Lotto Belisol
$176 BMC, Lampre ISD
$221 Cofidis, Saur Sojasun
$321 FDJ
$501 Orica GreenEdge, Saxo Bank, Argos Shimano

2012 Tour de France winner
(prices in brackets from 26 June)
$2.25 Brad Wiggins (steady)
$2.70 Cadel Evans (steady)
$21 Denis Menchov (steady)
$21 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (steady)
$21 Vincenzo Nibali (steady)
$26 Chris Froome (steady)
$26 Robert Gesink (steady)
$34 Frank Schleck (steady)
$34 Samuel Sanchez (steady)
$41 Ryder Hesjedal (in from $51)

$201 Michael Rogers (steady)
$201 Richie Porte (steady)
$501 Simon Gerrans (steady)
$751 Matt Lloyd (steady)
$1001 Stuart O’Grady (steady)
$1001 Matt Goss (steady)
$1001 Brett Lancaster (steady)
$1001 Baden Cooke (steady)
$1001 Mark Renshaw (steady)
$1001 Jonathan Cantwell (steady)
$1001 Adam Hansen (steady)
Others quoted

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!