O’Connor names Aussie Sevens squad

Australia’s rugby sevens coach Michael O’Connor has named his 12-man squad to play in this weekend’s opening round of the IRB world series on the Gold Coast.

O’Connor has had the luxury of naming the most experienced squad in his tenure as Australia’s sevens coach with Ed Jenkins set to captain the team for the second year in a row.

The squad also features former Gold Coast rugby league player Shannon Walker as well as Queensland Red and Wallaby squad member Luke Morahan.

“The side we’ve selected is a well-balanced, experienced team,” O’Connor said.

“None of the 12 are making their debut this weekend, which is a real change to last year.

“When you look at sides we put on the part last season I think we had at least one debutant in every tournament of the nine-leg series.”

Australia have been drawn in pool B of the tournament against Tonga, Scotland and defending Gold Coast champions Fiji.

Their campaign begins at 1.40pm AEST on Saturday against Tonga.

Australia men’s sevens squad: Ed Jenkins (capt), Allan Fa’alava’au, Matt Lucas, Pama Fou, Jesse Parahi, Sean McMahon, Lewis Holland, Jordan Tuapou, Will Miller, Jacob Taylor, Luke Morahan, Shannon Walker.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!