Underwood Stakes 2012 race information and past results

The Underwood Stakes is a Group 1 horse race that takes place over 1800 metres at Caulfield Racecourse. Held under weight for age conditions, this event is an important lead up to prestigious races like the Cox Plate and the Caulfield Cup. However, with $350,000 in prize money up for offer, the Underwood Stakes is also an important race in its own right.

Brought to you by Horse Racing Tips

Brought to you by Underwood Stakes 2012

The Underwood Stakes attracts a lot of attention from the racing community, because it is the first Group 1 event to take place in Melbourne during the spring carnival. This event is held alongside a number of other races on the day, including the Group 3 Naturalism Stakes, the Thousand Guineas Prelude, and the How Now Stakes.

The Underwood Stakes has a long and proud history in Australian racing, with the first event dating back to 1924. Initially run over a distance of 8 furlongs, this race was also run over 10 furlongs from 1954 to 1971. From 1972 to 1993 the Underwood Stakes was a 2000 metre race, finally becoming an 1800 metre event in 1994. A Principal race until 1978, the Underwood Stakes graduated to Group 1 status in 1979.

A number of quality horses have won this event over the years, including Heroic, Phar Lap, Ajax , Big Philou, Lord, Tobin Bronze, and Rain Lover, Rubiton, Octagonal, and Tie The Knot. Northerly scored back to back victories in 2001-02, with Elvstroem winning in 2004 and Weekend Hussler taking first place in 2008.

The 2011 edition of the Underwood Stakes was won by Lion Tamer, who ran down Southern Speed in second place and Midas Touch in third.

2011 Underwood Stakes Result

1. Lion Tamer

2. Southern Speed

3. Midas Touch

4. Glass Harmonium

5. Playing God

6. Heart Of Dreams

7. Precedence

8. Scarlett Lady

9. Lights Of Heaven

10. Efficient

11. Brazilian Pulse

12. Master O’Reilly

13. Shamrocker

14. Right Of Refusal


Past Results


Year Winner Status Distance


2011 Lion Tamer Group 1 1800m

2010 So You Think Group 1 1800m

2009 Heart Of Dreams Group 1 1800m

2008 Weekend Hustler Group 1 1800m

2007 Rubiscent Group 1 1800m

2006 El Segundo Group 1 1800m

2005 Perlin Group 1 1800m

2004 Elvstroem Group 1 1800m

2003 Mummify Group 1 1800m

2002 Northerly Group 1 1800m

2001 Northerly Group 1 1800m

2000 Oliver Twist Group 1 1800m

1999 Intergaze Group 1 1800m

1998 Tie The Knot Group 1 1800m

1997 Always Aloof Group 1 1800m

1996 Octagonal Group 1 1800m

1995 Sharscay Group 1 1800m

1994 Jeune Group 1 1800m

1993 Runyon Group 1 2000m

1992 Prince Salieri Group 1 2000m

1991 Dr. Grace Group 1 2000m

1990 The Phantom Group 1 2000m

1989 Almaarad Group 1 2000m

1988 Authaal Group 1 2000m

1987 Rubiton Group 1 2000m

1986 Bonecrusher Group 1 2000m

1985 Tristarc Group 1 2000m

1984 Bounty Hawk Group 1 2000m

1983 Trissaro Group 1 2000m

1982 Fearless Pride Group 1 2000m

1981 Sovereign Red Group 1 2000m

1980 My Brown Jug

Waitangirua Group 1 2000m

1979 Valley Of Georgia Group 1 2000m

1978 So Called Principal race 2000m

1977 Denise’s Joy Principal race 2000m

1976 How Now Principal race 2000m

1975 Taras Bulba Principal race 2000m

1974 Frozen Section Principal race 2000m

1973 Scotch And Dry Principal race 2000m

1972 Sobar Principal race 2000m

1971 Gay Icarus Principal race 10F

1970 Big Philou Principal race 10F

1969 Rain Lover Principal race 10F

1968 Lowland Principal race 10F

1967 Future Principal race 10F

1966 Tobin Bronze Principal race 10F

1965 Future Principal race 10F

1964 Contempler Principal race 10F

1963 Havelock Principal race 10F

1962 Aquanita Principal race 10F

1961 Aquanita Principal race 10F

1960 Lord Principal race 10F

1959 Trellios Principal race 10F

1958 Lord Principal race 10F

1957 Syntax Principal race 10F

1956 Ray Ribbon Principal race 10F

1955 Cromis Principal race 10F

1954 Flying Halo Principal race 10F

1953 Flying Halo Principal race 9F

1952 Ellerslie Principal race 9F

1951 Laurie Hussar Principal race 9F

1950 Beau Gem Principal race 9F

1949 Beau Gem Principal race 9F

1948 Royal Gem Principal race 8F

1947 Attley Principal race 8F

1946 Attley Principal race 8F

1945 St. Fairy Principal race 8F

1944 Amana Principal race 8F

1944 Tea Cake Principal race 8F

1943 Gay Revelry Principal race 7F

1942 not held

1941 Sun Valley Principal race 8F

1940 Ajax Principal race 8F

1939 Ajax Principal race 8F

1938 Ajax Principal race 8F

1937 Young Idea Principal race 8F

1936 Peter Fils Principal race 8F

1935 Young Idea Principal race 8F

1934 Hall Mark Principal race 8F

1933 Hall Mark Principal race 8F

1932 Liberal Principal race 8F

1931 Phar Lap Principal race 8F

1930 Waterline Principal race 8F

1929 Highland Principal race 8F

1928 Highland Principal race 8F

1927 Royal Charter Principal race 8F

1926 Heroic Principal race 8F

1925 Whttier Principal race 8F

1924 Whittier Principal race 8F

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!