TJ Smith Stakes 2016 – Facts and Figures



* Named in honour of Randwick’s most famous trainer whose daughter Gai Waterhouse has won the race with Phoenix Park in 2002, Shamekha in 2005 and Bentley Biscuit in 2007

* First run in 1997 when won by Mahogany

* Elevated to Group One status in 2005

* Some outstanding sprinters have won the race including Apache Cat (2008), Takeover Target (2009) and Black Caviar (2011 and 2013)

* Final race for Black Caviar before her retirement.

* The champion mare also holds the race record of 1:08.71 set in 2011


* Six favourites have won the race since its inception

* Chautauqua chasing back-to-back TJ Smith wins


“He’s fit and well and there’s no question that he’s come on a lot since returning from Melbourne,” trainer John O’Shea on Exosphere.

“He’s as good as he can be… We just need some rain. He’s sort of a four-length, five-length better horse on a rain-affected track.” trainer Tony McEvoy on Shiraz.

“It’s pretty hard to improve off two Group Ones in a row. He’s been a good horse and hopefully with the change of scenery we can keep him ticking over.” trainer Simon Zahra on Flamberge.


Article from

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!