Tea Rose Stakes 2012 race information and past results

The Tea Rose Stakes is a Group 2 race that is run over a distance of 1500 metres.  This event normally takes place each year at the Randwick Racecourse in Sydney, although the 2011 edition was run at Rosehill due to renovation work being completed.  The Tea Rose Stakes is a set weights race for 3 year old fillies, with $175,000 of prize money up for offer on the day.

Brought to you by Horse Racing Tips

Brought to you by Tea Rose Stakes

This event has proved to be a good form guide for races later in the spring, including the Flight Stakes which has been won by many place-getters and winners of this event.  The Tea Rose Stakes is also a part of the Princess Series of races, which also include the Silver Shadow Stakes, Furious Stakes, and Flight Stakes.

The Tea Rose Stakes has been taking place since 1980, and has attracted a number of fine horses during that time.  Some of the recent horses to have won this race include Unworldly in 2000, Ha Ha in 2001, Cheeky Choice in 2006, Samantha Miss in 2008, More Joyous in 2009, and Streama in 2011.  Some fillies have gone on to score a Furious Stakes/Tea Rose Stakes/Flight Stakes treble, including Sunline in 1998, Danglissa in 1999, Unworldly in 2000, Samantha Miss in 2008, and Streama in 2011.

The Tea Rose Stakes is run on the same day as the high profile Group 1 George Main Stakes, with other events also taking place throughout the day.  The 2011 race was won by Streama, with the filly looking in total control for most of the race.  Pane In The Glass came in at second place, with Florentina finishing in third.


2011 Tea Rose Stakes Result


1. Streama

2. Pane In The Glass

3. Florentina

4. Anise

5. Houston Benefactor

6. Dowager Queen

7. More Bubbly

8. Shuswap

9. Elite Falls

10. Ice Baby

11. Shared Reflections



Year     Winner                        Status              Distance


2011     Streama                       Group 2            1500m

2010     More Strawberries         Group 2            1500m

2009     More Joyous                Group 2            1500m

2008     Samantha Miss             Group 2            1500m

2007     Not Held                      Group 2            1500m

2006     Cheeky Choice             Group 2            1500m

2005     Mnemosyne                 Group 2            1500m

2004     Prisoner Of Love          Group 2            1500m

2003     Shamekha                    Group 2            1500m

2002     Victory Vein                 Group 2            1500m

2001     Ha Ha                          Group 2            1500m

2000     Unworldly                     Group 2            1500m

1999     Danglissa                     Group 2            1500m

1998     Sunline                           Group 2            1500m

1997     Stella Cadente              Group 2            1500m

1996     Assertive Lass              Group 2            1500m

1995     Pontal Lass                  Group 2            1500m

1994     Danarani                      Group 2            1500m

1993     Angst                           Group 2            1500m

1992     Burst                            Group 2            1500m

1991     Bold Promise               Group 2            1550m

1990     Whisked                       Group 2            1550m

1989     Tristanagh                    Group 2            1500m

1988     Glenview                      Group 2            1500m

1987     Glory Girl                     Group 2            1500m

1986     Evandale Star               Group 2            1500m

1985     Shinakima                    Group 2            1500m

1984     Premier Flight               Group 3            1400m

1983     Sabre Dancer               Group 3            1400m

1982     Emancipation               Listed               1400m

1981     Black Shoes                 Listed               1400m

1980     Dark Eclipse                Listed               1400m



* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!