Stutt Stakes 2012 race information and past results

The Bill Stutt Stakes has a long and rich history in Australian racing, stretching back all the way to 1934. This Group 2 event is held over a distance of 1600 metres at Monnee Valley Racecourse, with horses three years and over battling it out for $200,000 in prize money.

The Bill Stutt Stakes is an important event for many reasons, especially because it is the first Group event in the Melbourne Spring Season run over 1600 metres. Because of this, it is considered by many to be a great form guide and lead up event to the Caulfield Guineas, which is run over the same distance and conditions a couple of weeks later.

Pierro is the long odds on favourite in tonights Group 2 Stutt Stakes

Brought to you by Horse Racing Tips

Brought to you by Stutt Stakes

The Bill Stutt Stakes was originally run over a distance of 8 furlongs. This distance was changed to 1600 metres in 1972, with this event graduating to a Group 2 race in 1979. A number or well known horses have won this race over its long history, including names like Whobegotyou in 2008, Zabeel in 1989, Canny Lad in 1990, and 1996 champion Encosta De Lago.

The 2011 race was won by Chase the Rainbow, with Cute Emily in second position and Sabrage in third.

2011 Stutt Stakes Result

1. Chase The Rainbow

2. Cute Emily

3. Sabrage

4. Zabeelionaire

5. Caravaggio

6. Kaitoa

7. Whisper Downs

8. Rock Musician


Past Results


Year Winner Status Distance


2011 Chase The Rainbow Group 2 1600m

2010 Hollowlea Group 2 1600m

2009 Carrara Group 2 1600m

2008 Whobegotyou Group 2 1600m

2007 Barbaricus Group 2 1600m

2006 Churchill Downs Group 2 1600m

2005 Red Dazzler Group 2 1600m

2004 Mr Martini Group 2 1600m

2003 Casual Pass Group 2 1600m

2002 Helenus Group 2 1600m

2001 Viscount Group 2 1600m

2000 Sarson Trail Group 2 1600m

1999 Diatribe Group 2 1600m

1998 St. Clemens Belle Group 2 1600m

1997 Schubert Group 2 1600m

1996 Encosta De Lago Group 2 1600m

1995 Burrito Group 2 1600m

1994 Blevic Group 2 1600m

1993 Pearl Prince Group 2 1600m

1992 Bundy Lad Group 2 1600m

1991 Ready To Explode Group 2 1600m

1990 Canny Lad Group 2 1600m

1989 Zabeel Group 2 1619m

1988 Almurtajaz Group 2 1600m

1987 Sky Chase Group 2 1600m

1986 Broad Reach Group 2 1614m

1985 Wellington Hammer Group 2 1600m

1984 Red Anchor Group 2 1600m

1983 Albany Bay Group 2 1600m

1982 Holsam Group 2 1600m

1981 Fearless Pride Group 2 1600m

1980 Glenson Group 2 1600m

1979 Rumour-Qui Group 2 1600m

1978 Karaman Principal race 1600m

1977 Guns Away Principal race 1600m

1976 Surround Principal race 1600m

1975 Denise’s Joy Principal race 1600m

1974 Plush Principal race 1600m

1973 Taj Rossi Principal race 1600m

1972 Century Principal race 1600m

1971 Beau Sovereign Principal race 8F

1970 Eastern Court Principal race 8F

1969 Daryl’s Joy Principal race 8F

1968 Always There Principal race 8F

1967 Fileur Principal race 8F

1966 Storm Queen Principal race 8F

1965 Star Affair Principal race 8F

1964 L’Orage Boy Principal race 8F

1963 Proteus Principal race 8F

1962 Fuel Principal race 8F

1961 New Statesman Principal race 8F

1960 Lady Sybil Principal race 8F

1959 Mardene Principal race 8F

1958 San Remo Principal race 8F

1957 Gay Saba Principal race 8F

1956 Arab’s Choice Principal race 8F

1955 French Charm Principal race 8F

1954 Spritsail Principal race 8F

1953 Walu Principal race 8F

1952 Lenity Principal race 8F

1951 Friar’s Hope Principal race 8F

1950 Beau Avion Principal race 8F

1949 St. Comedy Principal race 8F

1948 Phoibos Principal race 8F

1947 Chanak Principal race 8F

1946 Bold Beau Principal race 8F

1945 Attley Principal race 8F

1944 Bootle Principal race 8F

1943 Precept Principal race 8F

1942 Leahero Principal race 8F

1941 Skipton Principal race 8F

1940 Sun Valley Principal race 8F

1939 Pure Gold Principal race 8F

1938 Cassio Principal race 8F

1937 Lochlee Principal race 8F

1936 Silver Reign Principal race 8F

1935 Valiant Chief Principal race 8F

1934 Titanium Principal race 8F



* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!