Horse Racing: Starlight Stakes 2012 race information

The Starlight Stakes is a relatively new addition to the Spring racing circuit, with the inaugural race taking place in 1999.  This 1100 metre race has prize money of $100,000 on offer, with horses three years old or more ready to fight it out this Saturday at Rosehill.

The final prize money pool for this race is $100,000.  First place receives $60,000, second place $20,000, third place $10,000, fourth $5,000, fifth $2,000, sixth, seventh and eighth $1,000, with a starter subsidy of $200.  The Starlight Stakes is one of two races taking place at Rosehill this Saturday, the other being the Group Three San Domenico Stakes for the three year olds, which is also a 1100 metre race.

Last year’s race was won by Zaratone, with New Zealand horse Winter King taking the honours in 2010.  Being held so early on in the season, the Starlight is a good way to judge horses leading into the rest of the Spring program.  There are 15 nominations for this year’s race, although All Too Hard is also entered for the San Domenico Stakes and the Vain Stakes in Melbourne.

Here is a complete list of winners throughout the history of the Starlight Stakes, along with riders, weight, and time, along with second and third place.

Year Winner – Time Jockey 2nd 3rd
2011 Zaratone – 1:04.35 K. O’Hara Royal Discretion Atomic Force
2010 Winter King (NZ) – 1:05.78 G. Schofield Centennial Park (NZ) Motspur
2009 Lucky Secret – 1:03.30 N. Rawiller Fist of Fury Gold Trail
2008 Keen Commander – 1:04.06 B. Shinn Posadas Fox Lake
2008 My Vegas – 1:04.08 C. Brown Belong to Many German Chocolate
2006 Fast ‘N’ Famous – 1:03.15 D. Beadman Rightson Posadas
2005 Mac’s Tune – 1:03.73 D. Spriggs Segments Sam Sung A Song
2004 Taikun – 1:02.55 D. Beadman Star of Florida Red Oog
2003 Star of Florida – 1:02.82 P. Payne Academe Empire
2002 Into the Night – 1:03.33 D. Beasley Alibarber Empire
2001 Oamaru Force – 1:03.14 G. Boss Mistegic Progress
2000 Au Lion – 1:03.99 M. Newman (a) Stanzaic High Rolling
1999 Regulations – 1:05.34 L. Beasley Life of Riley (NZ) Rebel Rock
* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!