The BMW 2016 – What you need to know



* First run in 1963, won by Maidenhead

* It was a Quality Handicap from 1963-76

* In 1964 was run over 10 furlongs (2000m)

* Until 1990 was the HE Tancred Stakes, until 1995 The BMW, until 2002 Mercedes Classic before reverting to The BMW

* Some greats of the Australasian turf have won the race: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986), Beau Zam (1988), Octagonal (1996, 1997), Might And Power (1998), Tie The Knot (1999, 2000) and Makybe Diva (2005)

* Nine horses have won the Ranvet Stakes-BMW double in the same year: Alibhai (1985), Myocard (1987), Beau Zam (1988), Stony Bay (1995), Tie The Knot (2000), Eremein (2006), Tuesday Joy (2008), Manighar (2012) and Silent Achiever (2014)

* 2015 winner: Hartnell


* Only two favourites have won the race in the past 10 years (Fiveandahalfstar, Eremein)

* Best winning trainer since 1983 is John Hawkes with 4 wins from 13 starters.

* Barrier four is the most successful, with six wins since 1983

* Trainer Chris Waller has the most entries, with Who Shot Thebarman, Grand Marshal, Preferment and Storm the Stars to race


“I don’t think he has to improve off his Australian Cup win to win the BMW. The only query will be is he going to be as strong at that distance” – jockey Hugh Bowman on Preferment.

“He’s got a beautiful gate and he’s in Group One-winning form” – trainer Chris Waller on Preferment.

“He got a bit cluttered up in a leader dominated race at Canberra and I think he was probably looking for more ground. Everything he’s done since has been good and the extra 400m here will suit him” – Godolphin trainer John O’Shea on Arab Dawn.


Article from

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!