Bennett cut from NRL rules committee

Brisbane coach Wayne Bennett has been voted off the powerful NRL competition committee by his peers, replaced by South Sydney mentor Michael Maguire.

Maguire and Sydney Roosters’ counterpart Trent Robinson will represent the game’s 16 coaches on the committee, which suggests rule changes to the NRL, for the next two years.

Robinson, who was an incumbent on the committee, and Maguire were elected following a vote by their fellow coaches.

Bennett was voted off after the NRL decided to restructure the group and allow the coaches to have a say on their representatives.

The 11-person committee also features members of the NRL hierarchy, the Australian men’s and women’s team captains, a representative of the players’ union and former players and coaches.

“The coaches collectively wanted to vote for their own representatives on the competition committee and Trent and Michael will no doubt be important voices in the group,” NRL head of football Todd Greenberg said.

“It is also important to bring some diversity to this group, which is why the structure of the competition committee was altered.

“Michael Maguire will bring a new voice to the room, along with Kangaroos captain Cameron Smith and Jillaroos skipper Steph Hancock.”

Bennett was one of seven coaches to apply to be on the committee along with North Queensland’s Paul Green, Warriors’ Andrew McFadden, Gold Coast’s Neil Henry and Cronulla’s Shane Flanagan.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!