Melbourne City vs Melbourne Victory Tips, Odds and Teams – A-League 2016 Round 11

Saturday’s A-League 2016 Round 11 match is between Melbourne City and Melbourne Victory. The opening kick off is set to commence at 19:57 local time with the game to be played at AAMI Park. The home team Melbourne City are the favourites for the match. View our preview and teams for the game between Melbourne City and Melbourne Victory.

The Melbourne derby is always a special occasion and this season has provided extra spice due to the Tim Cahill effect and the great season City are having so far capped off with that stunning FFA Cup win a week ago.

City smashed Victory in the round 2 derby with Cahill marking his arrival in the A-League with an unbelievable strike.

It was an incredible atmosphere, a great match and I expect this match to produce the same.

Both teams want the maximum points to stay in touch with league leaders Sydney FC, but an added bonus is whoever wins is guaranteed to be in second spot.

I expect an intense game with both teams pressing and quick in transition.

KEY BATTLE: Tim Cahill v Alan Baro

Cahill looms as the obvious danger for Victory’s defence, and the key will be to restrict supply to him in the box.

In the FFA Cup final he had one chance and killed Sydney FC, so Baro (pictured above) will have to ensure his teammates cut off supply while he needs to be switched on at all times.

While City have hogged the limelight this year, Victory have flown under the radar, slowly creeping up the table. This could be their moment to exact revenge.

Unibet Odds: Melbourne City $2.38 – Draw $3.50 – Melbourne Victory $2.90

Tip: Melbourne City

Value Bet: First Goal Scorer – N Colazo

Correct Score: Melbourne City 3-2


Melbourne City FC squad: 1.Thomas SORENSEN (gk), 2.Manny MUSCAT, 3.Josh ROSE, 4.Connor CHAPMAN, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 8.Neil KILKENNY, 9.Nicolas COLAZO, 10.Anthony CACERES, 11.Bruce KAMAU, 12.Nick FITZGERALD, 17.Tim CAHILL, 18.Paulo RETRE, 20.Dean BOUZANIS (gk), 21.Ruon TONGYIK, 22.Michael JAKOBSEN, 23.Bruno FORNAROLI (c), 26.Luke BRATTAN, 27.Fernando BRANDAN.

Melbourne Victory squad: 2.Jason GERIA, 4.Nick ANSELL, 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Marco ROJAS, 8.Besart BERISHA, 9.Max BEISTER, 10.James TROISI, 13.Oliver BOZANIC, 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 15.Alan BARO, 16.Rashid MAHAZI, 17.James DONACHIE, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Carl VALERI (c), 22.Stefan NIGRO, 23.Jai INGHAM, 40.Matt ACTON (gk).

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!