Foley back for NSW Waratahs

Bernard Foley will start while former NRL star Reece Robinson will make his debut in the NSW Waratahs’ Super Rugby derby clash with the Queensland Reds on Sunday.

Wallabies playmaker Foley’s return from a shoulder injury for his first appearance of the season in the Easter showdown in Brisbane has forced a reshuffle of the NSW backline.

Kurtley Beale switches to inside centre, where he and Foley formed a potent combination during the Waratahs’ charge to the 2014 title, with youngster David Horwitz relegated to the bench.

Robinson, in his first season in Super Rugby after defecting from Parramatta’s league ranks, replaces Matt Carraro on the wing.

Coach Daryl Gibson has also made three changes to his forward pack, with club captain Dave Dennis moving from flanker to lock to make way for hard-hitting local young gun Jack Dempsey, who is also set to make his run-on debut.

Jed Holloway has been recalled to the starting line-up in the No.8 jersey after becoming the highest try-scoring reserve ever in a match for NSW with a hat-trick against the Highlanders last start.

Holloway will start at the expense of Wallabies veteran Wycliff Palu, who has been named on the bench.

The Waratahs’ most-capped player, prop Benn Robinson, is back as a reinforcement on the bench after suffering a broken nose in round one.

NSW Waratahs: Israel Folau, Reece Robinson, Rob Horne, Kurtley Beale, Zac Guildford, Bernard Foley, Nick Phipps, Jed Holloway, Michael Hooper (capt), Jack Dempsey, David Dennis, Dean Mumm, Angus Taavao, Tolu Latu, Paddy Ryan. Reserves: Hugh Roach, Benn Robinson, Tom Robertson, Sam Lousi, Wycliff Palu, Matt Lucas, David Horwitz, Matt Carraro.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!