Lord Mayor’s Cup nominations – 2016

View the nominations for the 2016 Lord Mayor’s Cup. The Lord Mayor’s Cup will be run on Saturday 28th May at Doomben racecourse.

Horse Sex Age Trainer
1 AKAVOROUN G 6 Ciaron Maher
2 AMOVATIO G 5 Chris Waller
3 BODEGA NEGRA G 5 Bruce W Hill
4 BRAVE ALI (NZ) G 9 Tony Gollan
5 CASINO DANCER M 5 Mike Van Gestel
6 COURT’S STAR G 4 John Wilcock
7 HI WORLD H 4 Lee & Anthony Freedman
8 HOPFGARTEN G 5 Robert Heathcote
9 JUMBO PRINCE H 4 Michael Nolan
10 KOOL KOMPANY (IRE) H 4 Chris Waller
11 LE VAL G 5 Noel Doyle
12 LORDAG G 5 Robert Heathcote
13 MALICE G 5 John O’Shea
14 MESSENE G 7 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
15 MIGHTY LUCKY G 6 Fred Cowell
16 PAJARO (NZ) G 5 Peter & Paul Snowden
17 PEACE FORCE M 6 Gerald Ryan
18 ROCK STURDY H 5 Joseph Pride
19 RULING FORCE G 5 Kelly Schweida
20 WORTHY CAUSE H 4 John Zielke


Black Heart Bart looms as the biggest challenger to Azkadellia in the Stradbroke Handicap with his Group One breakthrough in Adelaide.

The former West Australian, now trained by Darren Weir in Victoria, claimed Saturday’s Goodwood after running fourth last year.

He is now at $5.50 behind Azkadellia who is at $4.40 to give Melbourne trainer Ciaron Maher back-to-back wins in Brisbane’s premier race on June 11.

Maher won the race last year with Srikandi.

Mark Zahra will ride Azkadellia in Saturday’s Group One Doomben 10,000 with suspensions ruling out both Damien Oliver and Nick Hall.

Oliver rode the mare to win the Group One Queen of the Turf Stakes at Randwick last month.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!