Lightning Stakes Field – 2016

The Final Field has been released for the 2016 Lightning Stakes which is to be run at Morphettville racecourse on Saturday 30th, July 2016. View the Lightning Stakes Field.

No Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 KARLOVASI Richard Jolly Paul Gatt 2 59kg
2 VICKI’S BOY Ken Sweeney Ryan Hurdle (a) 12 59kg
3 LOPE DE CAPIO Wayne Francis & Glen Kent Ms Kei Chiong (a) 6 59kg
4 VIDDORA Lloyd Kennewell Matthew Neilson 16 57kg
5 COOL SNITZEL Darren Weir John Allen 3 57kg
6 DANCE WITH FONTEIN Robbie Griffiths Clare Lindop 8 57kg
7 OUR VIDIA (NZ) Byron Cozamanis 4 57kg
8 OCEAN EMBERS Shea Eden Ms Jackie Beriman 9 57kg
9 HEARTZ ABLAZE Richard Jolly Jake Toeroek 5 57kg
10 COCOA DOLL Phillip Stokes Jason Holder 15 57kg
11 POWER TRIP John McArdle Chris Parnham 14 54kg
12 LIFE’S REWARD David Tootell Zac Spain (a) 13 54kg
13 SWORD OF LIGHT Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Ms Katelyn Mallyon 10 52kg
14 SHOWPERO David Jolly Ms Jamie Kah 1 52kg
15 MOTOWN LIL Robert Smerdon Daniel Moor 11 52kg
16 CLOCKWORK ORANGE David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Cory Parish 7 52kg


A Queensland harness racing trainer who allegedly assaulted a steward has successfully appealed to have his licence reinstated.

Justin Abbott was in February disqualified for two-years by Racing Queensland after an inquiry found him guilty of assaulting stipendiary steward Paul Zimmerman the month before.

On Wednesday, the Supreme Court of Queensland quashed and set aside the board’s decision and ordered that the allegation be heard by a different panel of stewards.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!