Apollo Stakes nominations – 2016

View the nominations for the 2016 Apollo Stakes. The Apollo Stakes will be run on Saturday 13th February at Randwick racecourse.

Horse Sex Age Trainer
1 BOBAN G 6 Chris Waller
2 BOHEMIAN LILY (NZ) M 4 Gai Waterhouse
3 CENTRE PIVOT G 5 Peter Robl
4 DIBAYANI (IRE) G 6 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
5 GRAND MARSHAL (GB) G 6 Chris Waller
6 GUST OF WIND (NZ) M 4 John Sargent
7 HAURAKI G 4 John O’Shea
8 LEEBAZ (NZ) G 6 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
10 MESSENE G 7 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
11 PRESS STATEMENT C 3 Chris Waller
12 RIVER LAD G 8 Kris Lees
13 SOLICIT M 5 Gerald Ryan
14 TIGER TEES (NZ) G 8 Joseph Pride
15 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) G 7 Chris Waller
16 WINX M 4 Chris Waller


Scone trainer Greg Bennett now has four horses headed to his local heat of the Country Championships after wins by All Summer Long and Clearly Innocent.

All Summer Long won Saturday’s Highway Handicap for country-trained horses at Randwick while Clearly Innocent earned his place with victory at Mudgee a day later.

Both horses needed to win to increase their benchmark ratings to make the field for the $100,000 heat on February 21 when they will join stablemates Invienna and Chivadahlii.

The first qualifying heat will be for south-eastern trained horses at Goulburn on February 20.

The first two in each regional heat make the final with a wild card race at Muswellbrook open to all-comers the last chance to get into the $400,000 feature at Randwick on April 2.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!