Australian squad announced for World T20

Cricket Australia has announced a 15-man squad for the ICC World Twenty20 in September in Sri Lanka that contained no surprises – the group identical to the one already named for a tour to Pakistan starting later this month.

George Bailey will again captain the Australia T20 team, which is hoping to go one better than their runner-up finish to England in the 2010 final in the West Indies.

Shane Watson will be Bailey’s deputy and explosive David Warner will open the batting.

The squad boasts plenty of experience with the Hussey brothers, Mike and Dave, Cameron White, Brad Hogg and Clint McKay – along with the youth of Patrick Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Victorian Glenn Maxwell who plays for the Melbourne Stars in the Big Bash League.

National selector John Inverarity said a real strength of the group was its flexibility and versatility.

“It’s a well-balanced side that will provide the captain George Bailey with plenty of options in both the batting line-up and bowling possibilities,” Inverarity said.

“The seam bowling has depth with Clint McKay, Pat Cummins, Ben Hilfenhaus and Mitch Starc along with allrounders Shane Watson and Dan Christian.

“Similarly, there is depth in the spin bowling department with Brad Hogg, Xavier Doherty and also allrounders Glenn Maxwell and David Hussey. You can then add to that the possibility of the wrist spin of Cameron White and David Warner.

“There is a great deal of explosive strike power in the batting line-up that could see Matthew Wade at six, Cameron White at seven and either Dan Christian or Glenn Maxwell at eight. There is also a good blend of left and right handers with David Warner, Michael Hussey and Wade likely to be in the top seven,” Inverarity said.

Australia’s World T20 campaign will start officially on Wednesday September 19 in Colombo against Ireland, with the final scheduled for Sunday October 7.

Aust T20 squad:

George Bailey (capt), Dan Christian, Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Mike Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson (vc), Cameron White.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!