Kyrgios named in Australian Davis Cup team

Davis Cup captain Wally Masur has named Nick Kyrgios to spearhead Australia’s four-man team to face Kazakhstan in this month’s quarter-final in Darwin.

Sam Groth, Thanasi Kokkinakis and long-time leader Lleyton Hewitt round out the team for the grasscourt tie from July 17-19, with John Millman to travel to the Northern Territory as a hitting partner.

Australian No.1 Bernard Tomic has been suspended for the tie following his attack on Tennis Australia president Steve Healy, chief executive Craig Tiley and head of player performance Pat Rafter.

In naming Kyrgios, Masur said reports that the 20-year-old had sent a text to the captain to say he was reconsidering his position after Tomic’s banishment on Saturday were not true.

Masur said Kyrgios, who was eliminated from Wimbledon with a four-set fourth-round loss to Richard Gasquet on Monday, didn’t take any convincing to commit to the cause as Australia chase a place in the semi-finals of the Davis Cup for the first time since 2006.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!