Australia to host USA in 2016 Davis Cup

The United States will travel to Australia as the two most successful nations in Davis Cup history were pitted against each other in the first round of the 2016 World Group play.

The Davis Cup draw for next season was held Wednesday in Santiago, and Australia will host the tie between two proud nations who are trying to reclaim their past glories.

The Americans have won a record 32 times while Australia is second overall with 28 wins.

The Americans or Australians had won every Davis Cup title between 1946 and 1973 but the US has come up empty since 2007 and the Aussies haven’t won since 2003.

Australia were beaten 3-2 by Great Britain in the semi-final of this year’s competition in Scotland where Andy Murray starred to end Lleyton Hewitt’s Davis Cup career as a player.

The USA’s struggles include losing to Great Britain in the first round for the past two years in the team format competition.

Great Britain, who are in this year’s final against Belgium, have been given a home draw against Japan on March 4-6,

Belgium will host a tie against Croatia in the opening round, the first matchup between the two since 2004.

It will mark a fifth consecutive tie at home for Johan Van Herck’s squad, who will have played 12 of their last 16 Davis Cup ties at home – including this year’s final in November on clay in Ghent.

Britain have also had a good run of home ties, with 13 of their last 17 Davis Cup appearances taking place on their soil. The meeting against Japan will be the first between the two countries since 1931.

France, Germany, Italy, Poland and Serbia were also granted home ties in the opening round.

Novak Djokovic’s Serbia, champions in 2010, will host Kazakhstan in the first meeting between the two countries. Both nations will look to improve in 2016 after being ousted in this year’s quarter-finals.

Italy faces 2014 champion Switzerland in a repeat of last year’s semi-finals. The two have met six times previously, with each nation having won three.

France and Canada will meet for only the third time in history, with new French captain Yannick Noah looking to continue his team’s undefeated record against the Canucks. They met in 1966 and 2012 with the French posting easy victories.

In other ties, Poland faces Argentina and Germany battles the Czech Republic.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!