Twitter reaction to Burgess leaving Bath

TWITTER REACTION TO SAM BURGESS LEAVING BATH:

“To all @SSFCRABBITOHS fans and Members in good standing ( @SSFCMembership) , Merry Christmas [email protected]” – Actor and South Sydney co-owner Russell Crowe (@russellcrowe)

“Guess who’s coming home?” – South Sydney chairman, Nick Pappas. (@navlakas)

“If it’s true about @SamBurgess8 then it’s a sad day for the rugby world and a great one for @SSFCRABBITOHS” – New Zealand dual code international Sonny Bill Williams (@SonnyBWilliams).

“Awsome news heard @SamBurgess8 is comeing back into the game we love! #greatforthegame” – Newcastle Knights second-rower Tariq Sims (@sims_tariq)

“Good to have you back @SamBurgess8 Great outcome for league.Fancy a game for @England_RL in next week? #SaveBurgessIsComplete @LeagueWeekly” – Fox Sports commentator Andrew Voss (@andrewvossy)

“Is Sam Burgess available for Saturday lol” – Former Wigan, Great Britain and England international winger Martin Offiah (@martinoffiah).

“If true then so sorry 2 c @SamBurgess8 go. Nothing but respect 4 you mate and what you do. Will be following your journey- inspired as ever” – England World Cup winner Jonny Wilkinson (@jonnywilkinson).

“So @SamBurgess8 has left Rugby Union. A sad end to a chapter that the England coaches handled so badly” – Former England captain Will Carling (@willcarling).

“If @SamBurgess8 has gone back to league then it’s fair to say @EnglandRugby should hold their hand up. What a waste, what a mess” – London Welsh and former England fly-half Olly Barkley (@ollybarkley).

“The Burgess story is a lesson in one thing – world cups are not the place to try out untested talent. RU fans did not want him to fail; too many wanted him to succeed too early & poor selection. Good luck to a great player.” – Former England hooker Brian Moore (@brianmoore666).

“All the Best mate, you are going back to your strength and where you are respected @SamBurgess8” – Former dual code Welsh Rugby international & British Lion John Devereux (@DevereuxJohn13).

“Sam Burgess gone with immediate effect… Could’ve been a top player with TIME – just needed TIME!” – Former Harlequins, England & British & Irish Lions player Ugo Monye (@ugomonye).

“Sorry end to an all-too-short stay. Picked way too early by Eng. We’ll never know how good SB could be. Surprised he’s choosing to walk” – Radio 5 commentator Alastair Eykyn (@alastaireykyn).

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!