Tonga in fighting mood For Argentina Test

Tonga will channel Saracens’ “wolf pack” spirit to chase a first-ever World Cup quarter-final, according to outside centre Siale Piutau.

The Pacific Islanders can still squeeze through to the last eight as they prepare for their Pool C clash with Argentina at Leicester City Stadium on Sunday, and are taking a leaf of out English Premiership club Saracens’ book in summoning scavenging spirit in defence against the Pumas.

“We have got this wolf pack mentality that is going to take on the Puma and that is how we are going into this game,” said Piutau.

“It’s going to be an all-out battle, all-out war. We are just dying to get out on the field and get our howling on.”

Tonga captain Nili Latu is also adopting a no-fear attitude and believes his side are relaxed about the prospect of making history and securing a first-ever World Cup quarter-final.

“If we win, with a bonus point, it could take us somewhere we have never been before,” said Latu.

“We could make history here. This is going to be our ‘final’ for this World Cup.

“I don’t see it as any pressure. We have nothing to lose, Argentina are a tier-one nation.

“It’s an exciting time for us, rather than a pressure time.”

Argentina have made seven changes from the side that beat Georgia 54-9, with Jeronimo De La Fuente and Matias Moroni replacing Juan Martin Hernandez and Marcelo Bosch.

De La Fuente and Moroni will make their first full outing as a Test pairing in the centres, with boss Daniel Hourcade keen to add impetus to midfield.

Tonga: Vungakoto Lilo, Telusa Veainu, Siale Piutau, Sione Piukala, Fetu’u Vainikolo, Kurth Morath, Sonatane Takulua, Viliami Ma’afu, Nili Latu (capt), Sione Kalamafoni, Joe Tu’ineau, Tukulua Lokotui, Halani ‘Aulika, Elvis Taione, Soane Tonga’uiha.

Reserves: Aleki Lutui, Sona Taumalolo, Sila Puafisi, Sitiveni Mafi, Opeti Fonua, Samisoni Fisilau, Latiume Fosita, David Halaifonua.

Argentina: Joaquin Tuculet, Santiago Cordero, Matias Moroni, Jeronimo De La Fuente, Juan Imhoff, Nicolas Sanchez, Martin Landajo, Leonardo Senatore, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, Pablo Matera, Tomas Lavanini, Guido Petti, Ramiro Herrera, Agustin Creevy (capt), Marcos Ayerza.

Reserves: Julian Montoya, Lucas Noguera, Juan Pablo Orlandi, Matias Alemanno, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Tomas Cubelli, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Horacio Agulla.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!