RWC records for NZ greats McCaw and Carter

All Blacks greats Richie McCaw and Dan Carter have added Rugby World Cup records to their long lists of Test achievements.

Captain McCaw has notched the most wins by any player in the tournament’s 28-year history after leading New Zealand to their 43-10 pool victory over Georgia in Cardiff.

It was his 17th win, nudging him in front of Australian halfback George Gregan and English prop Jason Leonard.

Fly-half Dan Carter landed four out of seven conversion attempts on Friday, giving him a total of 41 at the World Cup. He leapfrogs Gavin Hastings (39) at the top of the all-time list for conversions.

World record point-scorer Carter is only ranked ninth for all-time World Cup points accumulation (133), while he is 31st for penalties landed (11).

McCaw is disappointed his record win was another patchy performance, leaving them with plenty of work before their last pool game against Tonga next week.

“We’re timing our run, I hope,” he said.

“I think we’re probably trying too hard at times. We created a lot of opportunities but we tried to finish it without actually taking another phase or taking our time.

“We’ve got a week to fix those things. We know we’ve got to get better.”


17 – Richie McCaw (NZ, 2003-15)

16 – George Gregan (Australia, 1995-2007), Jason Leonard (England, 1991-2003)

15 – Os du Randt (South Africa, 1995-2007), Sean Fitzpatrick (NZ, 1987-95), Keven Mealamu (NZ, 2003-15), Lewis Moody (England, 2003-11), Jonny Wilkinson (England, 1999-2011)


41 – Dan Carter (NZ, 2003-15)

39 – Gavin Hastings (Scotland, 1987-95)

37 – Grant Fox (NZ, 1987-91)

36 – Michael Lynagh (Australia, 1987-95)

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!