Pumas ring changes to face Wallabies

Five-eighth Nicolas Sanchez and fullback Santiago Cordero are the only survivors in a new-look Argentina backline to face Australia in the Rugby Championship in Mendoza.

Pumas coach David Hourcade has overhauled his line-up, making seven personnel changes overall and one positional change from the side that opened the four-nations series with a 39-18 loss to New Zealand last Friday night in Christchurch.

Argentina are aiming for their second win in the tournament’s history after overcoming Australia 21-17 in Mendoza last year, when Sanchez was key.

He kicked three penalties and a conversion as the home side fought back from 14-0 down.

Winger Gonzalo Camacho was recalled for his first Test since the 2013 series while Santiago Cordero moves from the wing to take the No.15 jersey.

Five of the changes come in the backline with veteran centre Marcelo Bosch among those dropped.

Bosch has proved a danger man against the Wallabies, scoring two tries in his last five Tests; half his career Test tally from 34 matches.

Juan Pablo Socino will make his debut at inside centre, beside two-cap centre Matias Moroni.

They played together for the first time against the French Barbarians in June.

Veteran playmaker Juan Martin Hernandez wasn’t considered as he continues to work on his fitness.

The only changes up front have lock Tomas Lavanini and flanker Javier Desio coming in to replace Guido Petti Pagadizabal and Juan Manuel Leguizamon respectively.

Socino, who impressed in the Baa Baas match, said they were motivated to bounce back from a defeat.

“Australia has great backs, but we have confidence in ourselves, in what we are doing, and we’re out to stop them,” he said.

Argentina: Santiago Cordero, Gonzalo Camacho, Matias Moroni, Juan Pablo Socino, Juan Imhoff, Nicolas Sanchez, Martin Landajo; Facundo Isa, Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, Javier Desio, Tomas Lavanini, Manuel Carizza, Ramiro Herrera, Agustin Creevy (captain), Marcos Ayerza. Reserves: Santiago Iglesias, Francisco Nahuel Tetaz, Matias Diaz, Leonardo Senatore, Tomas Cubelli, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Lucas Amorosino.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!