Pocock, Hooper to both start for Wallabies

Star loose forwards David Pocock and Michael Hooper will start together for the Wallabies for the first time in Saturday’s Rugby Championship decider against New Zealand.

Coach Michael Cheika has selected Pocock out of position at No.8 alongside openside flanker Hooper in order to shoehorn both former skippers and breakdown experts into his team for the ANZ Stadium clash.

Adding further mobility to the pack is the inclusion of Dean Mumm at the expense of giant lock Will Skelton and he forms a new second row with another ex-captain, James Horwill.

Matt Giteau returns from injury for his first start against New Zealand since 2011. The 93-Test veteran will start at inside centre between five eighth Bernard Foley and Tevita Kuridrani.

Back from playing overseas like Giteau and Mumm, veteran winger Drew Mitchell gets his first opportunity in the Wallabies starting side this international season, joining Adam Ashley-Cooper and Israel Folau in the Wallabies back three.

Australia: Israel Folau, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Tevita Kuridrani, Matt Giteau, Drew Mitchell, Bernard Foley, Nick Phipps; David Pocock, Michael Hooper, Scott Fardy, James Horwill, Dean Mumm, Sekope Kepu, Stephen Moore (capt), Scott Sio. Res: Tatafu Polota-Nau, James Slipper, Greg Holmes, Will Skelton, Ben McCalman, Nic White, Matt Toomua, Kurtley Beale.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!