New props in Scotland’s Six Nations squad

Scotland coach Vern Cotter kept faith with most of the players who performed so impressively in the Rugby World Cup when he named his Six Nations squad on Tuesday, although he included two uncapped props – Zander Fagerson and Rory Sutherland.

Glasgow tighthead Fagerson is 20 on Wednesday, while the 23-year-old Sutherland has earned a shot after a strong start to the season for Edinburgh.

Prop Moray Low and hooker Pat MacArthur are also included after missing out on the World Cup, where Scotland agonisingly lost to Australia in the quarter-finals.

There are 23 World Cup squad members retained, with six unavailable through injury or retirement.

Back into the frame come centres Alex Dunbar and Duncan Taylor, who missed the World Cup through injury, as does flanker John Barclay, a surprise omission last year.

“We’ve selected a mixture of experience with some exciting young players coming through, some of whom have experienced the Rugby World Cup and are eager to move forward, take the Six Nations head on and show that we can develop our game and be competitive,” Cotter said in a statement.

“I think there should be confidence. The guys have worked hard and improved. There are positive signs that we can compete, and this championship will give us another opportunity to measure ourselves against very good opposition in a tough competition.”

Scotland, who finished last in 2015 after losing every game, kick off the tournament on February 6 at home to England.

Scotland squad:

Forwards: Hooker Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby) Pat MacArthur (Glasgow Warriors), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh); Front row Alasdair Dickinson (Edinburgh), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow), Moray Low (Exeter Chiefs), Willem Nel (Edinburgh), Gordon Reid (Glasgow), Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh); Lock Jonny Gray (Glasgow), Richie Gray (Castres), Tim Swinson (Glasgow), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh); Back row Adam Ashe (Glasgow), John Barclay (Scarlets), Blair Cowan (London Irish), David Denton (Bath), Chris Fusaro (Glasgow), John Hardie (Edinburgh), Josh Strauss (Glasgow)

Backs: Scrumhalf Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Edinburgh), Greig Laidlaw (capt) (Gloucester); Stand-off Finn Russell (Glasgow), Duncan Weir (Glasgow); Centre Mark Bennett (Glasgow), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow), Peter Horne (Glasgow), Matt Scott (Edinburgh), Duncan Taylor (Saracens); Wing Sean Lamont (Glasgow), Sean Maitland (London Irish), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow), Tim Visser (Harlequins); Fullback Stuart Hogg (Glasgow), Ruaridh Jackson (Wasps)

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!