Hawker steps down as ARU chairman

Michael Hawker has announced he will step down as chairman of the Australian Rugby Union after three years in the position.

A former Wallaby who played 25 Tests for Australia, Hawker will remain on the ARU board as a director until next year’s annual general meeting.

Hawker has served the maximum nine-year board term across two periods: from 2001-2003 and from 2009-2015.

Cameron Clyne was elected as the new chairman, effective January 1 next year, after being a director since October 2013.

The board also approved the appointment of former Australian Sex Discrimination Commissioner Elizabeth Broderick, who will replace Nerolie Withnall, who served on the board from October 2013 until June this year.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!