Giteau, Mitchell named in Wallabies squad

France-based Matt Giteau and Drew Mitchell have been included in Australia’s squad for the start of the Rugby Championship while Karmichael Hunt and James O’Connor are notable omissions.

After a standout season with the Waratahs, Fiji-born Taqele Naiyaravoro was also named in the 38-man Wallabies squad on Thursday.

With a view to the World Cup later this year, Wallabies coach Michael Cheika opted to announce an extended squad only for the opening game of the Rugby Championship against South Africa in Brisbane on July 18.

Wallabies squad:

Rory Arnold, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Kurtley Beale, Quade Cooper, Dave Dennis, James Hanson, Scott Fardy, Tetera Faulkner, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Will Genia, Matt Giteau, Scott Higginbotham, Greg Holmes, Michael Hooper, Rob Horne, James Horwill, Samu Kerevi, Sekope Kepu, Tevita Kuridrani, Christian Leali’ifano, Stephen Moore, Drew Mitchell, Ben McCalman, Dean Mumm, Taqele Naiyaravoro, Nick Phipps, David Pocock, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Scott Sio, Rob Simmons, Will Skelton, James Slipper, Toby Smith, Henry Speight, Matt Toomua, Joe Tomane, Nic White.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!