Ford, Nowell to start for England

England coach Eddie Jones has made two changes to his side for Saturday’s second Test against the Wallabies, handing starts to five-eighth George Ford and winger Jack Nowell.

Owen Farrell shifts to No.12 to accommodate Ford while Nowell replaces Marland Yarde, who drops out of the English squad altogether.

Also omitted is Luther Burrell, who started at inside centre in the Brisbane Test but was replaced by Ford in the first half, a switch lauded as a tactical masterstroke by Jones.

The forward pack is unchanged – in stark contrast to the Wallabies, who will take on an entirely different look in Melbourne after coach Michael Cheika made four alterations to his front, second and back rows.

“We’ve picked a 23 to get the job done in Melbourne,” said Jones.

“Throughout the week the players have shown they’re desperate to wear the red rose which meant some close calls on selection.

“It’s a 23 that suits the way we want to play at AAMI Park.

“George and Owen playing together gives us two great kicking options and Jack is a high work-rate player.”

Back-rower and former captain Chris Robshaw will also earn his 50th English cap, having made his debut against Argentina back in 2009.

Back-row forward Chris Robshaw will win his 50th England cap having made his debut against Argentina in 2009.

“As soon as we came off the field in Brisbane our thoughts turned to Melbourne and I’m pleased with how we’ve prepared as the week has progressed,” Jones said.

“The players have recognised the importance of going up another level and have trained with a real intensity and purpose.”

Jones said England weren’t satisfied with their 39-28 win over Australia last week, claiming they could improve in defence and at the breakdown.

“We know the job isn’t done,” he said.

“We came here to win a Test series and that’s what we intend to do.

“Australia will try and throw everything at us on Saturday and we’ll be ready for the challenge.

England: Mike Brown, Anthony Watson, Jonathan Joseph, Owen Farrell, Jack Nowell, George Ford, Ben Youngs, Billy Vunipola, James Haskell, Chris Robshaw, George Kruis, Maro Itoje, Dan Cole, Dylan Hartley (c), Mako Vunipola. Reserves: Jamie George, Matt Mullan, Paul Hill, Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, Jack Clifford, Danny Care, Elliot Daly.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!