Argentina make three changes for NZ Test

Argentina have recalled Martin Landajo as captain among three changes to its starting line-up against New Zealand in the Rugby Championship.

Guido Petti returns at lock, displacing Javier Ortega Desio, who moves to the backrow, where he will start on the openside flank.

Among the backs, Landajo will be at scrumhalf ahead of Tomas Cubelli, and Ramiro Moyano has been named on the left wing, replacing Lucas Gonzalez Amorosin.

Center Jeronimo de la Fuente is in line to make his Rugby Championship debut from the bench.

The Pumas, yet to beat the All Blacks in 23 Tests, were encouraged by their performance in Hamilton three weeks ago when they competed for 55 minutes before losing 57-22, coach Daniel Hourcade said.

“We had a very good 55 minutes in Hamilton and we must learn not to wear out and manage our energy,” Houcarde said.

“We know how to attack and we have to put them under pressure both on attack and in defence.”

Argentina is coming off a 36-20 loss to Australia in its most recent Rugby Championship match two weeks ago, which followed its 26-24 home win over South Africa.

“Playing at home and against the All Blacks is a huge motivation,” Houcarde said.

“Surely, the stadium will be full and that helps you and gives you a bonus that is very important.”

The All Blacks have made nine changes to their line-up for the match following its 41-13 win over South Africa.

Among those changes, flanker Liam Squire, scrumhalf TJ Perenara, centre Anton Lienert-Brown, and lock Patrick Tuipulotu are promoted to the starting line-up.

New Zealand has clinched the Rugby Championship title with two rounds remaining.

Argentina: Joaquin Tuculet, Santiago Cordero, Matias Moroni, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Ramiro Moyano, Nicolas Sanchez, Martin Landajo (captain), Facundo Isa, Javier Ortego Desio, Pablo Matera, Matias Alemanno, Guido Petti, Ramiro Herrera, Agustin Creevy, Nahuel Telaz Chaparro. Reserves: Julian Montoya, Lucas Noguera, Enrique Pieretto, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Leonardo Senatore, Tomas Cubelli, Jeronimo De la Fuente, Matias Orlando.

New Zealand: Ben Smith, Israel Dagg, Anton Lienert-Brown, Ryan Crotty, Julian Savea, Beauden Barrett, T.J. Perenara, Kieran Read (captain), Ardie Savea, Liam Squire, Brodie Retallick, Patrick Tuipulotu, Owen Franks, Dane Coles, Joe Moody. Reserves: Codie Taylor, Wyatt Crockett, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Sam Whitelock, Elliot Dixon, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Lima Sopoaga, Damian McKenzie.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!