Geelong Cup 2016 – How it can affect the Melbourne Cup

Melbourne Cup Melbourne Cup

We take a look at some of the affects the Geelong Cup has had in recent years on the Melbourne Cup as well as a look at this years edition of the race.


* Three horses – Media Puzzle (2002), Americain (2010) and Dunaden (2011) have won the Geelong Cup-Melbourne Cup double in the same year.

* A couple more Geelong Cup winners went close in the Melbourne Cup – Bauer (2008) was edged out by a nose by Viewed while On A Jeune (2005) was beaten in the Melbourne Cup by Makybe Diva.

* Zazzman won the Geelong Cup in 2003 before finishing third behind Makybe Diva and She’s Archie in the Melbourne Cup the following year.

* Grey Lion, Oceanographer and Qewy are the only Geelong Cup runners still in contention for this year’s Melbourne Cup.

* Oceanographer and Qewy must run in the top three to pass the first ballot clause for the Melbourne Cup 2016. Grey Lion is 30th in the order of entry.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!