Epsom Handicap 2016 – What you need to know



* Named after the famous racecourse in the south of England where the Epsom Derby has been run since 1780.

* The Epsom was first run in 1865 when won by Dundee.


* Amounis (1926, 1928), Chatham (1932-33), Shannon (1945), Sky High (1961), Toi Port (1963-64), Gunsynd (1971), Super Impose (1990-91), Filante (1996), Shogun Lodge (2000), Desert War (2004, 2005), Racing To Win (2006), Theseo (2008).

* Dundee proved his win in the inaugural Epsom was no fluke when he completed the Randwick mile double with success in the first Doncaster Handicap in 1866.

* Others to complete the Epsom-Doncaster double in the same season include Marvel (1891-92), Chatham (1933-34), Blue Legend (1946-47), Broker’s Tip (1969-70), Gunsynd (1971-72), Authentic Heir (1975-76), Super Impose (1990-91) and Winx (2015-16).

* The most successful trainers are the late TJ Smith and his daughter Gai Waterhouse with seven wins apiece.

* Lightweight chance Fabrizio will bid to give Waterhouse her eighth Epsom and first in partnership with Adrian Bott.


* Three of the 13 runners are Group One winners – Palentino, Le Romain and Vanbrugh. Hauraki has been placed at the highest level four times, most recently when second to Winx in the George Main Stakes.

* Chris Waller has trained the winner for the past three years – 2015 Winx, 2014 He’s Your Man, 2013 Boban.

* Waller has four runners this year – McCreery, Mackintosh, Togersen and Vanbrugh.


“I won’t need luck getting a nice position so that makes my job a bit easier” – Le Romain’s jockey Hugh Bowman after drawing barrier three.

“It’s a very open, very competitive field, but there’s been a lot of merit in his last two runs” – Hauraki’s trainer John O’Shea

“We’re better off at the weights and just the fact that Winx isn’t in there has got to be a big bonus” – Trainer Jason Attard on Sons Of John, third last year.

“Barrier one is going to be tricky” – Happy Clapper’s jockey Brenton Avdulla.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!