Thurston wins record fourth Dally M

Johnathan Thurston has won his record fourth Dally M Player of the Year award.

The North Queensland star was awarded the honour at a black-tie ceremony at Sydney’s The Star casino on Monday night.

After leading the Cowboys to this year’s NRL grand final against Brisbane at ANZ Stadium on Sunday, Thurston was an unbackable favourite to take out the gong, for the NRL’s best player in 2015 and those predications proved true

Thurston has previously taken home the award in 2005, 2007 and was equal winner last year with Jarryd Hayne.

Thurston, 32, has overtaken Rugby League Immortal Andrew Johns as the greatest winner of the award. Johns won the award in 1998, 1999 and 2002.

Australian and Queensland representative Thurston wasn’t in Sydney to receive the award, instead he was with his Cowboys teammates at a function at Townsville’s Jupiter’s Casino.

Thurston led the Dally M count on 19 points when voting went behind closed doors after round 16 and regularly picked up points from there to run out a deserved winner of the award.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!