Rabbitohs get tough draw for Nines defence

Defending champions South Sydney have drawn the Sydney Roosters, Melbourne and Parramatta in pool play for February’s NRL Nines tournament in Auckland.

The Rabbitohs were victorious in this year’s second edition of the tournament at Eden Park, needing extra time to beat Cronulla in the final.

Next year’s tournament on February 6-7 offers prizemoney of $A2.38 million.

The inaugural winners were the North Queensland Cowboys, the this year’s NRL premiers who have drawn Newcastle, Penrith and Wests Tigers in their pool.

Hosts the Warriors will face Canterbury, Manly and Brisbane.


Hunua pool: Canterbury Bulldogs, Manly Sea Eagles, NZ Warriors, Brisbane Broncos.

Waiheke pool: South Sydney Rabbitohs, Sydney Roosters, Parramatta Eels, Melbourne Storm.

Rangitoto pool: North Queensland Cowboys, Newcastle Knights, Penrith Panthers, Wests Tigers.

Piha pool: Cronulla Sharks, St George Illawarra Dragons, Canberra Raiders, Gold Coast Titans.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!