Overhaul for NRL rules committee

Trent Robinson and Wayne Bennett are not assured of retaining their positions on the powerful NRL Competition Committee with the group to undergo a restructuring.

News Corp reports that for the first time next season the two coaches’ positions on the committee will be appointed by their fellow coaches.

Over the next fortnight all 16 coaches will be asked to nominate two coaches who will fill the two spots in the group.

The Competition Committee oversees and recommends rules changes and is influential in changing the laws of the game.

The overhauled committee will include two coaches, members of the NRL hierarchy including chief executive Dave Smith, chairman John Grant, referees boss Tony Archer and head of football Todd Greenberg, a former player in Darren Lockyer, Kangaroos captain Cameron Smith and Jillaroos skipper Steph Hancock. The Rugby League Players Association will also hold a seat.

Following Brisbane’s grand final defeat to North Queensland on Sunday, Broncos coach Wayne Bennett used his post-game press conference to push for the abolition of golden point.

“It’s just unfair on everybody. I would’ve been happy to come back next week and play again,” Bennett said.

“I still don’t see what’s wrong with a draw. The season doesn’t have to change anything. For 100 years we didn’t have golden point and we still had a great game.”

Last month Melbourne coach Craig Bellamy criticised the fact Bennett and Sydney Roosters mentor Robinson sat on the committee, saying it was open to an abuse of power.

“I don’t think coaches should be involved in that,” Bellamy said at the time.

“If you’ve got coaches there, they’re naturally going to do what is best for their team.”

It followed a public war of words between Bellamy and Bennett in which the Brisbane coach criticised Melbourne’s wrestling tactics.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!