NRL clubs close in on perpetual licence

The 16 NRL clubs have moved a step closer to signing a perpetual licence after meeting with the game’s chief executive Todd Greenberg on Thursday.

After accepting the NRL’s funding agreement last year, which promised to deliver $100 million into their coffers each year, the clubs agreed to sign a perpetual licence.

In what was described as a positive meeting between the club’s chairmen and the game’s administrators, the clubs were presented with a copy of the licence agreement to compete in the NRL.

It is now up to the clubs to decide whether to agree to the terms which would deliver the game a secure future.

Last year disenchanted clubs threatened to revolt and form a Super League-style breakaway after falling out with now-departed CEO Dave Smith.

However a perpetual licence would undermine their ability to hold similar threats over the NRL in future.

The clubs and NRL in December agreed to a new funding agreement which would distribute money from the $1.8 billion television deal.

Under the memorandum of understanding, the clubs would receive $100 million a year until 2022, with another $100 million to flow into grassroots footy.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!