Daley names five Origin newcomers

NSW coach Laurie Daley has named five State of Origin newcomers in his Blues squad for the series opener on Wednesday week.

Rookie Blues Adam Reynolds, Matt Moylan Josh Mansour, Dylan Walker and Tyson Frizell were included in Daley’s 19-man squad for Origin I on Monday.

James Maloney returns to the Blues halves, to partner Reynolds, for the first time since the 2013 series.

Incumbent halves Mitchell Pearce and Trent Hodkinson have been axed.

Beau Scott has also been dumped alongside Will Hopoate.

Daley said he named a 19-man squad to cover for injury.

Josh Dugan is one player under an injury cloud due to an elbow problem.

“We have a couple of players in doubt, we don’t have to name a team for a while, so we will see how it goes,” Daley said.

However Robbie Farah, who missed last weekend’s Wests Tigers win due to concussion is confident he will take the field at ANZ Stadium on June 1 for game one.

“It is just a matter of resting up and making sure that I am fully recovered,” he said.

“I am feeling good and looking forward to preparing well for next Wednesday.”

Bryce Cartwright has been included as a development player.

NSW squad: Greg Bird, Boyd Cordner, Josh Dugan, Blake Ferguson, Andrew Fifita, Tyson Frizell, Paul Gallen, Josh Jackson, Michael Jennings, David Klemmer, James Maloney, Josh Mansour, Josh Morris, Matt Moylan, Adam Reynolds, James Tamou, Dylan Walker, Aaron Woods, Robbie Farah.

Development player: Bryce Cartwright.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!