Skaife,Richards inducted into Hall of Fame

Touring car legends and former teammates Mark Skaife and Jim Richards are to be inducted into the Australian motorsport hall of fame.

The pair won three Bathurst races together and share nine Supercars championships between them.

“We had a lot of our successes together in the same team, and we’ve been friends ever since 1989,” Richards told AAP on Saturday.

“So to be inducted together is brilliant – it almost seems like it’s been orchestrated, but it hasn’t.”

Richards still races in the touring car masters, while Skaife will return to the track in February for the Bathurst 12 Hour alongside Russell Ingall.

“It’s one of those things that you don’t think of when you’re blazing around doing our sport,” Skaife said.

“But when you get to the end and you get this sort of accolade, we’re both very proud.”

Skaife and Richards headline a list of 21 inductees, to be presented at a gala dinner during next year’s Australian Formula One Grand Prix in Melbourne.

The inaugural list of 30 Hall of Famers was announced last year, including Sir Jack Brabham, Mick Doohan, Alan Jones, Allan Moffat and the late Peter Brock.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!