Kiwi Dixon wins IndyCar title

New Zealander Scott Dixon has claimed his fourth IndyCar series championship, pipping Colombian Juan Pablo Montoya with victory in the season finale in California.

The Brisbane-born driver pipped Montoya to the title on a countback after they finished locked on 556 points for the season following Dixon’s victory in the Grand Prix of Sonoma.

Defending champion Will Power finished seventh and was involved in a mid-race incident with teammate Montoya that eventually ruined the ex-Formula One driver’s hopes of claiming the title.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!