Toorak Handicap 2015 – what you need to know


$400,000, Group One, handicap, 1600m.

RACING OFFER: Sign-up at via this link for a $501 BONUS BET!


First run in 1881.

Notable winners include The Trump (1937); Saxony (1948-49); Galilee (1966); Gunsynd (1971); Leilani (1974); Canny Lass (1986); Cole Diesel (1989); Poetic King (1996); Umrum (1999-2000); More Joyous (2010) and Solzenitsyn (2012-13).


Stratum Star will be striving to become the 10th horse to claim the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes-Toorak Handicap double in the same year.

Trainer Robert Heathcote has won two of the past three Tooraks with Solzhenitsyn (2012 and 2013) and has Hopfgarten in Saturday’s renewal.

Disposition was beaten by Stratum Star in a photo finish to the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes but meets that horse 1.5kg better at the weights.


“Third-up he’s going to be right for the mile and he’s probably one of my best winning chances on the day.” Glen Boss on topweight Lucky Hussler which forms part of a strong book of feature race rides for the jockey.

“It’s fair to say it was the best 12th I’ve had in my career.” Trainer Robert Heathcote on the unlucky performance of Hopfgarten in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.


A big field which should ensure a good tempo. The speed looks to come from Strawberry Boy and Jacquinot Bay, both on-pace runners who will need to cross from wide barriers. Ninth Legion, Kenjorwood and Hi World shouldn’t be too far away with Lucky Hussler, Noble Protector and Disposition trailing that trio. Stratum Star and Hopfgarten could get shuffled back from inside draws.


Trust In A Gust (2014) was the winner of three of his four lead-up runs including the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

Solzhenitsyn (2013) was third-up and came off a close third in the Rupert Clarke.

Solzhenitsyn (2012) scored his first win in the race at his third campaign start after a minor placing in the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

King Mufhasa (2011) came to Australia and won the Toorak after taking out the Makfi Stakes in New Zealand and finishing second in the Windsor Park Stakes.

More Joyous (2010) won it fourth-up coming off three straight Sydney wins including the George Main Stakes at weight-for-age.


Article from

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!