Ranvet Stakes Field – 2016

The Final Field has been released for the 2016 Ranvet Stakes which is to be run at Rosehill racecourse on Saturday 19th, March 2016. View the Ranvet Stakes Field.


1CRITERION (NZ)David Hayes & Tom DabernigMichael Walker359kg
2MONGOLIAN KHANMurray BakerOpie Bosson459kg
3DIBAYANI (IRE)David Hayes & Tom DabernigBlake Shinn159kg
4HAURAKIJohn O’SheaJames McDonald259kg
5THE UNITED STATES (IRE)Robert HickmottKerrin McEvoy759kg
6WEARY (FR)Chris WallerZac Purton959kg
7STORM THE STARS (USA)Chris WallerHugh Bowman858.5kg
8KOOL KOMPANY (IRE)Chris WallerCraig Williams658.5kg
9BOHEMIAN LILY (NZ)Gai WaterhouseTommy Berry557kg


An outburst directed at a steward has cost Greg Ryan the chance to ride in the $400,000 Country Championship at Randwick.

Second on the all-time Australian winners’ list only to Robert Thompson, Ryan pleaded guilty to insulting behaviour towards Shane Cullen, chief steward for the Hunter and North West region of NSW.

Ryan admitted to swearing at Cullen and slamming the door as he left a stewards’ inquiry at Scone on February 21.

He was given an eight-week ban on Tuesday with four weeks suspended as long as he is not found guilty of a repeat offence relating to conduct in the next 12 months.

Ryan’s four-week ban starts on March 23 with the Country Championships at Randwick on April 2.

The veteran rider has a healthy lead in the NSW country premiership and is second behind Brenton Avdulla in the state title.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!