Queensland Derby Field – 2016

The Final Field has been released for the 2016 Queensland Derby which is to be run at Eagle Farm racecourse on Saturday 11th, June 2016. View the Queensland Derby Field.

No Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 HOWARD BE THY NAME Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 2 57kg
2 ETYMOLOGY John O’Shea James McDonald 19 57kg
3 MACKINTOSH (NZ) Chris Waller Blake Shinn 5 57kg
4 CYLINDER BEACH (NZ) Desleigh Forster Michael Cahill 10 57kg
5 I’M BELUCCI Desleigh Forster Jim Byrne 12 57kg
6 ENCOSTA LINE Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 8 57kg
7 EAGLE WAY Bryan Guy Tommy Berry 11 57kg
8 RODRICO Chris Waller Joao Moreira 13 57kg
9 COLONEL CUSTER (NZ) Bjorn Baker Adam Hyeronimus 18 57kg
10 RED ALTO Paul Banks Damien Oliver 7 57kg
11 MULTIFACETS (NZ) Chris Waller Tim Clark 9 57kg
12 BRAZEN David Vandyke Zac Purton 17 57kg
13 ESCHIELE John O’Shea Damian Browne 3 57kg
14 ADMIRAL JELLO Kris Lees Aaron Bullock 15 57kg
15 SNAPPER John Morrisey Ryan Wiggins 14 57kg
16 MAVEN WIZ Anthony Cummings Tye Angland 1 57kg
17 STAR ZONE Brian Gentle Jason Collett 6 57kg
18 HARVARD (NZ) Ciaron Maher Dwayne Dunn 16 57kg
19e SLAUGHTER BAY Bryan Dais 4 57kg


The Canterbury meeting marks the return of Tommy Berry to Sydney racing after a successful couple of months riding in Japan.

Berry has three scheduled rides on Wednesday’s program for the Hawkes Racing stable.

He last rode in Sydney on April 9.

While he was in Japan, Berry made the trip to Hong Kong to claim a Group One win on the Hawkes-trained Chautauqua who cemented his position as the world’s highest-ranked sprinter.

Berry will ride at Wyong on Thursday then head to Brisbane for the delayed re-opening of Eagle Farm on Saturday featuring four Group One races.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!