Mornington Cup Prelude Field – 2016

The Final Field has been released for the 2016 Mornington Cup Prelude which is to be run at Caulfield on Saturday 27th, February 2016 at 1:00PM. View the Mornington Cup Prelude Field.


No Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 EXTRA ZERO David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Mark Zahra 7 60kg
2 BONFIRE (GB) Gai Waterhouse Mr Ben Melham 8 59.5kg
3 MANNDAWI (FR) Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 3 57kg
4 TASHBEEH David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Craig Williams 10 56.5kg
5 GOOD VALUE Michael Kent 9 55.5kg
6 TUSCAN FIRE Dan O’Sullivan Luke Currie 5 54.5kg
7 KAREEMING Pat Carey Mr Patrick Moloney (a) 6 54kg
8 ASSIGN (IRE) Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 4 54kg
9 RADICAL Peter G Moody Glen Boss 1 54kg
10 WEXFORD TOWN (IRE) Robert Hickmott Ms Michelle Payne 2 54kg
11 KOROIBETE Peter G Moody 11 54kg
12 MAGNUS SLIPPER Carlo Vidotto Alan Creighton 12 54kg


Group Two placegetter Just A Bullet heads a team of four contenders from the Brett Cavanough stable for the Wagga Wagga heat of the Country Championship.

Just A Bullet finished third behind Heatherly and Politeness in the Rubtion Stakes at Caulfield last Saturday week.

He is the highest rated of the 23 entries in Saturday’s $100,000 Championship Qualifier (1400m).

The Albury-based Cavanough also has Another Rush, Steakandbearnaise and Ruark in the race.

Chris Heywood also has four entries headed by Mitchell Road.

The winner and the runner-up qualify for the $400,000 final at Randwick on April 2.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!