Magic Millions Cup Field – 2017

View the field for the 2017 Magic Millions Cup. The Magic Millions Cup will be run on Saturday 14th January at Gold Coast racecourse.

Time: 2:35PM
Distance: 1400m

Have Your Say: Who do you think will win the Magic Millions Cup? – Leave a comment below

No Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 LUCKY HUSSLER Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 14 61kg
2 MOST IMPORTANT Tony Gollan Robbie Fradd 6 56kg
3 HOPFGARTEN Robert Heathcote Larry Cassidy 7 55.5kg
4 KENJORWOOD Darren Weir Damian Lane 18 55.5kg
5 SIR MOMENTS Steven O’dea Paul Hammersley 4 55.5kg
6 STRAWBERRY BOY Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 19 55kg
7 SNIPPETS LAND Peter & Paul Snowden 8 54.5kg
8 BACHMAN Gerald Ryan Tim Clark 1 54kg
9 TESTASHADOW Gary Portelli Ms Deanne Panya (a) 13 54kg
10 SNOOPY Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 10 54kg
11 OFF THE RAILS Bjorn Baker Christian Reith 21 54kg
12 LOYALTY MAN Michael Moroney Craig Williams 11 54kg
13 BALIGARI Lloyd Kennewell Joe Bowditch 20 54kg
14 THE ILIAD John & Chris Meagher 9 54kg
15 PERFECT DARE Matthew Dunn 12 54kg
16 WAR JET Joe Cleary Noel Callow 17 54kg
17e BREWERY Gerald Ryan 16 54kg
18e MONSIEUR GUSTAVE Darryl Hansen Luke Tarrant 3 54kg
19e WE’RE SURE Peter & Paul Snowden 5 54kg
20e CHOICE WE HAD Peter & Paul Snowden 15 54kg
21e SKYTREK Barry Lockwood 2 54kg


New Zealand record holder and Cox Plate winning jockey David Walsh has confirmed his retirement from the saddle.

Walsh, who has battled ill health this season, announced his decision on Wednesday.

“Retiring has been on my mind for a while, but I didn’t want to make the call until I felt better and now the time is right,” Walsh told

“I haven’t got anything lined up at the moment, but I’m hoping to stay in the game whether it be in a steward’s role or working with apprentices. It would be nice to think there might be something.”

Walsh rode more than 2500 winners throughout his career, passing Lance O’Sullivan’s mark when he rode No. 2360 in in April, 2014, aboard Willy Duggan in the Marlborough Cup.

He rode his first winner in 1974 and won the premiership in 1983-84 and again the following year.

Walsh’s Group One wins include the 1986 Adelaide Cup and Caulfield Cup on (Mr) Lomondy and the 1994 Cox Plate on Solvit.

“You can’t top a Cox Plate,” he said. “That would be the absolute highlight. You dream of winning a race like that.”

In a stint as a trainer, Walsh won the 2003 Group One NZ Bloodstock Breeders’ Stakes with Zirna.

“Racing has been great to me and I’ve loved every minute of it,” he said.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!