Heatherlie Stakes nominations – 2016

View the nominations for the 2016 Heatherlie Stakes. The Heatherlie Stakes will be run on Saturday 27th August at Caulfield racecourse.

Horse Sex Age Trainer
1 AKAVOROUN G 7 Ciaron Maher
2 ALMOONQITH (USA) H 7 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig
3 ARAB DAWN (GB) G 6 John O’Shea
4 BERISHA G 5 Robert Smerdon
5 CALVIN WILLIAMS (FR) H 7 Darren Weir
6 ESCADO G 7 Matt Laurie
7 GREAT ESTEEM G 6 Stuart Webb
8 LONGERON G 7 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
9 LORD DURANTE G 8 Simone Ferchie
10 MAGNAPAL G 7 Terry & Karina O’Sullivan
11 NIGELISSIMA (NZ) M 6 Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young
12 NORDIC FLIGHT (GER) G 5 Lee & Anthony Freedman
13 PINSTRIPE LANE (NZ) G 6 Leon & Troy Corstens
14 PROVOCATIVE (NZ) M 4 Tony Pike
15 SECOND BULLET G 6 Danny O’Brien
16 SLY ROMANCE (NZ) G 5 Richard Laming
17 TAIYOO G 7 Darren Weir
18 TALL SHIP (IRE) G 6 Darren Weir
19 TOM MELBOURNE (IRE) G 6 Lee & Anthony Freedman


A star-studded field is expected to line up in Australia’s first Group One race of the season with seven elite-level winners among the Memsie Stakes nominations.

Saturday’s Memsie Stakes at Caulfield has attracted 18 nominations including Melbourne Cup winner Prince Of Penzance who is one of four entries for Victoria’s premier trainer Darren Weir.

Weir has fellow Group One winners Palentino and Black Heart Bart among the nominations while the other Group One winners set to make their new season returns in the 1400m weight-for-age race are Tarzino, Tavago, Sofia Rosa and Rising Romance.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!