Golden Rose Stakes 2016 day Tips – Rosehill races 10/9/2016

Sir Bacchus Sir Bacchus

One of Rosehill’s feature race meetings will be run today in the way of Golden Rose day in which we see a quality nine race card which finally isn’t hit by bad weather and scratchings. View our Rosehill tips and selections below.

Race One: 6 Rosaleisha

Race Two: 11 Erika

Race Three: 1 Sir Bacchus

Race Four: 2 Quatronic

Race Five: 2 Sir John Hawkwood

Race Six: 8 Derryn

Race Seven: 3 Vashka

Race Eight: 5 Serene Majesty

Race Nine: 2 Conarchie



Best Bet: Race Three Number 1 Sir Bacchus

Next Best: Race Five Number 2 Sir John Hawkwood

Best Value: Race Six Number 8 Derryn




Group One, 1400m, $1 million, three-year-olds, set weights


* Known as the Peter Pan Stakes until 2003 and elevated to Group One status in 2009

* Colts and geldings have historically dominated the race. No filly has won the race since it became a Group One


* ATC Sires’ Produce winner Yankee Rose is the only Group One winner in the 14-horse field

* She is one of three fillies in the race along with favourite Omei Sword and O’Reilly Cyrus

* Winx’s younger half-brother El Divino, trained by Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott, will be ridden by champion jockey Hugh Bowman

* Godolphin colts Astern and Impending are both searching for their first Group One win


* “We’ve won this race from wide draws before and the way Astern is progressing in this preparation he can overcome it” – Godolphin Australia managing director Henry Plumptre

* “We’re really happy about the weather at the moment because he’s been looking for a firmer track” – Good Standing’s trainer James Cummings

* “She’s not foolproof yet. She’s still learning her trade” – Trainer Chris Waller on Omei Sword


* Omei Sword is $3.50 favourite following her dominant Group Two Silver Shadow Stakes win

* Astern has drifted to $4.60 and shares the second line of betting the Hawkes Racing-trained Divine Prophet

* Yankee Rose has been backed from $11 into $6.50


* Exosphere claimed the Run To The Rose-Golden Rose double last year repeating Hallowed Crown’s effort from the previous year

* The last four winners have come out of the Run To The Rose

* Derryn will attempt to be only the second Victorian-trained winner after Toorak Toff won it in 2010

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!