Dissident crowned Horse of the Year

Dissident has been named Australia’s Horse of the Year for his four Group One wins last season.

RACING OFFER: Sign-up at Sportsbet.com.au via this link for a $501 BONUS BET!

Trained by Peter Moody until his retirement to stud this spring, Dissident was the decisive winner of the award over Brazen Beau.

It is the fifth time in six years a Moody-trained horse has won the honour with Typhoon Tracy winning in 2010 and Black Caviar taking the title three times.

The awards are decided by a national group of 56 racing media and handicappers who award points on a 3-2-1 basis.

Dissident, who is now standing at Newgate Farm, was also named champion sprinter for his wins up to and including 1400 metres .

He won the Memsie Stakes, C F Orr Stakes and All Aged Stakes and also took out the Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m).

Dual Group One winner Brazen Beau also finished second in the sprint category but shone as the champion three-year-old colt or gelding.

His female counterpart, West Australian filly got the nod as the champion filly for her wins which included the Australasian Oaks and South Australian Derby.

Godolphin import Contributer won the middle distance category while Melbourne Cup winner Protectionist was named the outstanding stayer.

In a tightly contested category, Golden Slipper winner Vancouver got the nod over Blue Diamond Stakes and ATC Sire’s Produce winner Pride Of Dubai as the best juvenile.

For the third time in four years, popular 12-year-old Bashboy was voted the champion jumper.

Hugh Bowman collected his award as the leading Group One jockey with nine wins while Chris Waller was recognised with the Bart Cummings award as the leading trainer with 14.


* Australian Racehorse of the Year: DISSIDENT

* Champion 2YO: VANCOUVER


* 3YO colt or gelding: BRAZEN BEAU

* Sprinter: DISSIDENT

* Middle Distance: CONTRIBUTER


* Jumper: BASHBOY


* Champion Group One jockey: HUGH BOWMAN

* Bart Cummings Award (Champion Group One Trainer): CHRIS WALLER


Article from JustHorseRacing.com.au

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!