Darley Classic 2015 facts and figures


RACING OFFER: Sign-up at Sportsbet.com.au via this link for a $501 BONUS BET!

* First run in 1960 and won by Karina. Group One since 1979

* Held on Victoria Derby day until 2007 when it was switched to the final day of the Melbourne Cup carnival

* Black Caviar won by four lengths in 2010, her first Group One. It was Ben Melham’s first and only ride on the champion mare

* Notable winners: Vain (1969), Century (1973), Special (1988), Takeover Target (2004), Miss Andretti (2007), Black Caviar (2010,11) and Buffering in 2013.


* Chautauqua is an odds-on favourite to remain unbeaten this campaign. He has won the McEwen, Gilgai and Manikato Stakes

* Buffering will contest the race for a fifth time. He won it in 2013 and was runner-up to Black Caviar in 2011.

* Terravista aiming to go back-to-back after defeating Chautauqua 12 months ago

* Six mares have won in the past 20 years with Black Caviar the most recent. Three mares run Saturday – Srikandi, Bring Me The Maid and Lumosty.


Chautauqua is set to start the shortest priced favourite since Black Caviar won at $1.04 in 2011. He is $1.60 in early markets with Terravista ($8) the only other runner under double figure odds.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!