Caulfield Stakes 2015 – what you need to know


First run in 1886 and won by Isonomy.

RACING OFFER: Sign-up at via this link for a $501 BONUS BET!

Significant winners include Wakeful (1901-02); Amounis (1930); Hall Mark (1934); Ajax (1938); Bernborough (1946); Comic Court (1950); Lord (1958-59-60); Sky High (1961-62); Winfreaux (1965-66-67); Gunsynd (1972); Kingston Town (1981-82); Bonecrusher (1986); Might And Power (1998); Lonhro (2002-03); So You Think (2010); Atlantic Jewel (2013) and Fawkner (2014).

Caulfield Stakes-Cox Plate double completed by 13 horses, most recently Ocean Park in 2012.

Rising Fast won Caulfield Stakes, Cox Plate and the Caulfield and Melbourne Cups in 1954 as well as the Turnbull, Mackinnon and Queen Elizabeth Stakes.


Kermadec puts his Cox Plate favouritism on the line when he steps up to 2000m for the first time.

Fawkner and Criterion ran the quinella in the 2014 Caulfield Stakes and are rivals again this year.


“To me, from when I first sat on him to now, if anything he’s mentally a different horse. Physically, he’s always been a beautiful animal and I’m just looking forward to riding him in a race.” Jockey Michael Walker on Criterion.

“This is an ideal stepping stone for the big race in two weeks time.” Chris Waller on favourite Kermadec who also heads betting for the Cox Plate.

“It’s a bit of deja vu. He never got a run in the Turnbull last year and he never got one this year, so I have to back him up.” Trainer Paul Beshara on Happy Trails who backs up into the Caulfield Stakes for the second year after a luckless Turnbull Stakes run at Flemington.


A small field with Pornichet and Entirely Platinum expected to be the two taking up the running. Fawkner should camp behind the leaders while Happy Trails should finally get some clear galloping room from his draw in six. Tactics on Kermadec will be interesting from his outside barrier.


Fawkner (2014) was second-up after a narrow defeat in the Makybe Diva Stakes.

Atlantic Jewel (2013) had won the Memsie and Stocks Stakes before a narrow second in the Underwood, her only defeat in 11 career starts.

Ocean Park (2012) won third-up following victories in the Makfi Challenge in New Zealand and Underwood Stakes.

Descarado (2011) won second-up, coming off an unplaced run in the Shannon Stakes in Sydney.

So You Think (2010) was third-up after winning both the Memsie Stakes and Underwood Stakes.


Article from

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!