Canberra Cup Field – 2016

The Final Field has been released for the 2016 Canberra Cup which is to be run at Canberra on Sunday 6th, March 2016 at 3:52pm. View the Canberra Cup Field.

No Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 INTREPID WAY (NZ) Amanda Turner & Mauro Poletti Peter Wells 9 57kg
2 BRING A SECRET Nick Olive Brendan Ward 14 56kg
3 BOLERO KING Clarry Conners Hugh Bowman 2 56kg
4 AL NADER Gai Waterhouse Brenton Avdulla 15 56kg
5 JUST FOR TILDA Bruce Cross Tim Clark 11 56kg
6 IMPERATOR AUGUSTUS John P Thompson Tye Angland 3 56kg
7 DARTS AWAY Barbara Joseph & Paul Jones Josh Cartwright (a) 5 56kg
8 FUEL Danny Williams Blake Shinn 10 56kg
9 RINVIATA (NZ) Matthew Dale Jay Ford 6 56kg
10 CRITICAL TOUCH Barbara Joseph & Paul Jones Simon Miller 4 56kg
11 ITALY John O’Shea James McDonald 7 54kg
12 WAY TOO GOOD James Cummings Tommy Berry 1 54kg
13 OCEAN TEMPEST James Cummings Glyn Schofield 8 54kg
14 ROCK ON ZARIZ Barbara Joseph & Paul Jones Mathew Cahill 12 54kg
15 DOUBLE GOOD Gratz Vella 13 54kg


The public will get the chance to vote on the best Golden Slipper winner as part of celebrations for the 60th running of the world’s richest race for two-year-olds.

A team of experts has chosen the 16-horse field from the past 59 runnings of the race in conjunction with the Australian Turf Club.

The public can vote by accessing and will be asked to say in 25 words or less why their selection is the winner.

The competition winner will be a VIP at the Golden Slipper meeting at Rosehill on March 19 and also receive his and hers watches with a combined value of $7750 from the sponsor, Longines, if their choice matches that of the judging panel.

The competition closes at 9am on March 15 with the result announced in a phantom call at the barrier draw for this year’s Slipper on that day.

The final field in alphabetical order is: Baguette, Bounding Away, Dance Hero, Flying Spur, Luskin Star, Manikato, Marscay, Pago Pago, Pierro, Sebring, Sepoy, Sir Dapper, Sky High, Todman, Tontonan and Vain.

The selection criteria for the judging panel included: winning performance on the particular conditions of the day; the strength of the field the horse defeated; historical context of the victory; the winner’s effort to overcome difficulty/adversity; the role of jockey and trainer in the win; and the future influence of the horse and its progeny on racing, during and beyond its two-year-old career.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!