Australian Cup 2016 – Facts



* First run in 1863.

* Run under handicap conditions until 1979, weight-for-age since, except for 1983-86

* 2000m since 1964. Previously run over 3600m, while 2800m in 1963

* Bart Cummings won the race 13 times


* Tim Whiffler (1867), Malua (1886), Spearfelt (1927), Welkin Prince (1962/63), Craftsman (1965/66), Leilani (1975), Ming Dynasty (1978/80), Dulcify (1979), Hyperno (1981), Bonecrusher (1987), Vo Rogue (1989/90), Better Loosen Up (1991), Let’s Elope (1992), Saintly (1996), Octagonal (1997), Northerly (2001/03), Lonhro (2004), Makybe Diva (2005)


* Favourite Bow Creek will start from the outside gate in the field of 11

* Jockey Michael Walker will try to win the race for the second year in a row when he partners imported stayer Almoonqith

* Preferment is chasing a third Group One win at Flemington having won the 2014 Victoria Derby and 2015 Turnbull Stakes

* Lindsay Park trainers David Hayes and Tom Dabernig trained the quinella last year and have three runners this year


* “If it was a handicap I would have said he’s there with a very big chance, but I think under weight-for-age conditions he may be a length or two off them” – Awesome Rock’s co-trainer Leon Corstens.

* “There’s never such thing as an easy Group One. I’ve got a healthy respect for all the competition, but I wouldn’t change her for any of them” – trainer Nigel Blackiston on Suavito

* “This was his goal, so he’s quite fit now and everything is going well” – trainer Paul Beshara on Happy Trails


Article from

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!