Australia to bat first against Pakistan

Australia captain Michael Clarke has chosen to bat first in hot conditions in the second one-day international in Abu Dhabi.

Australia lead the three-match series one-nil.

Clarke named an unchanged side, with no frontline spinner in the lineup after Xavier Doherty was unable to win a recall.

Pakistan made two changes, recalling spinner Abdur Rehman and paceman Junaid Khan for quick bowler Aizaz Cheema and injured legspinning allrounder Shahid Afridi.

Pakistan’s spin attack also includes Mohammad Hafeez, Saeed Ajmal and Azhar Ali for game two.

Australia’s players have observed a minute’s silence for the five Australian soldiers who have died this week in Afghanistan. Michael Clarke’s side are also wearing black arm bands.

Friday night’s match is due to start 6pm (2400 AEST) with the temperature sitting on around 40 degrees.

The third and final game is in Sharjah on Monday night.


Australia: Michael Clarke (capt), David Warner, Matthew Wade, Mike Hussey, David Hussey, George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, James Pattinson, Dan Christian.

Pakistan: Misbahul Haq (capt), Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal, Abdur Rehman, Sohail Tanvir, Junaid Khan, Saeed Ajmal.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!