Aussies to bat first in Ashes tour game

Australia will bat first in their three-day clash with Derbyshire.

Michael Clarke won the toss on Thursday in Derby, where David Warner and Shaun Marsh will open the batting for the visitors.

Brad Haddin, who withdrew from the second Ashes Test due to family reasons, is set to share wicketkeeping duties with Peter Nevill in the tour game.

Pacemen Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood have been rested, as has offspinner Nathan Lyon and in-form batsman Steve Smith.

Shane Watson will be keen for a big score after being dropped from the Lord’s Test, which Australia won by 405 runs to square the Ashes series.

Australia XI for clash with Derbyshire: David Warner, Shaun Marsh, Michael Clarke (capt), Shane Watson, Adam Voges, Mitch Marsh, Brad Haddin, Peter Nevill, Peter Siddle, Pat Cummins, Fawad Ahmed.

* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.
Stay up to date with the latest sports news
Follow our social accounts to get exclusive content and all the latest sporting news!